Terje
Jul 10 2006, 11:15 PM
Recently bytezandpieces.com has contracted a virus of the trojan variety. I'm not sure how it got it, but it certainly has a trojan of some kind. I couldn't find much in the way of information on it, save for that it tries to load a .wmv. Avg picks it up before it causes too much trouble. Also, it usually crashes IE. Any advice on how to clear this up?
stevevan
Jul 11 2006, 05:15 AM
Have you googled the trojan's name?
Oh...and welcome to the forums!
TCH-Bruce
Jul 11 2006, 07:09 AM
Welcome to the forums.
Are you sure of the spelling? I've searched several databases and have found nothing on Xplad.v
TCH-Thomas
Jul 11 2006, 09:24 AM
Welcome to the forum, Terje.

I searched a bit and did not find the exact name you are saying but I found info on some with similar names.
See if these helps:
http://www.pestpatrol.com/spywarecenter/pest.aspx?id=24731http://www.pandasoftware.com/com/virus_info/encyclopedia/overview.aspx?idvirus=31604&sitepanda=particulares
sass
Jul 20 2006, 02:26 PM
I help run bytezandpieces.com, and today while I was fiddling around I noticed that the site is downloading the trojan from the following address: zbzppbwqmm.biz/dl/adv493.php
I also noticed the program "webalizer" in my tmp file and wasn't sure if this was related or not. I am not up on script enough to be able to pick out what on my page is causing me to download from this website, and webalizer is open source so I asume it could be used for good or evil. Any suggestions? Thanks,
Sass
TCH-Bruce
Jul 20 2006, 02:46 PM
Welcome to the forums Sass
Webalizer is a site statistics script similar to AwStats. This should not be downloading anything.
sass
Jul 20 2006, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(TCH-Bruce @ Jul 20 2006, 12:46 PM)

Welcome to the forums Sass
Webalizer is a site statistics script similar to AwStats. This should not be downloading anything.
That's good to know. I still wonder what is telling my site to download the trojan.
sass
Jul 20 2006, 04:35 PM
Just an update: I found a calling card by someone calling himself "Partizan." He links to the following site:
http://kizil.org/. I wasn't sure if there was a procedure for reporting these guys or what, but I think he is exploiting our news management system. I'm working on it as we speak.
Sass
sass
Jul 20 2006, 05:45 PM
One more update, the full name of the trojan is xpladv493[1].wmf I recently saw one other site that it had hit, it isn't very widespread yet apparently.
stevevan
Jul 20 2006, 07:28 PM
I just did a google search and came up with two entries. One of them had to do with Joomla! v 1.0.10 (the latest one).

The entry was written in Dutch, but you can bet I'll be paying a little more closer attention to the Joomla! web site in the coming month or so!
Madmanmcp
Jul 20 2006, 09:32 PM
QUOTE
I noticed that the site is downloading the trojan from the following address: zbzppbwqmm.biz/dl/adv493.php
Not sure why you are downloading but this appears to be a legit site. The whois data on the domain appears to be a real person and all the information "looks" real. When you goto the domain h_tp://zbzppbwqmm.biz/ it brings up a "Fedora Core Test Page".
stevevan
Jul 21 2006, 05:08 AM
Have a look at
this site for some interesting info on this.
TCH-JimE
Jul 21 2006, 09:32 AM
It looks like the original person on the Joomla website was at 1.0.8 and it may have already been there before they updated to 1.0.10
If your still having problems, backup your joomla website and remove all the files and upload a fresh set.
If you have an upto date window XP, it should be patched againest this flaw.
JimE
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.