Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Phishing Scam Targets Yahoo! Photos
TotalChoice Hosting Family Forums > TotalChoice Hosting General Support > Security Discussions > Software/Scripts/Other Alerts
curtis
In the past week, much attention has been given to the Yahoo phishing scam that is advertised through instant messenger (IM) via Yahoo Messenger. The aim of the phisher is to entice a user to click on the given link and provide personal details by logging in through the spoofed Web site that it opens.

The IM arrives with the following text:

http://www.geocities.com/oxox0o_angel_oxox0o/ ^smile.gif^ guess where
this pic was taken and guess who is behind me in the picture

or

http://www.geocities.com/oxox0o_cary_oxox0o/ ^smile.gif^ guess where
this pic was taken and guess who is behind me in the picture

The spoofed Web site bears a close resemblance to the legitimate Yahoo! Photo’s online login page, and the phishers made no attempt to disguise the Phishing URL in the address bar. The page is hosted by Geocities so it is possible for user's to determine that the Web site is not legitimate. The Phishing Web site asks the user for a user name and password.

Upon clicking on the Sign In button, the gathered information is then sent to the email address: oxox0o_angel_oxox0o@yahoo.com that can be found at the page source of the phishing web site, http://www.geocities.com/oxox0o_angel_oxox0o/.
Deverill
Thanks for the heads-up, Curtis!

Dirty rotten scammers!!!
Madmanmcp
Looks like Yahoo is on top of it, the website has been taken down. You still have to wonder how many were caught in the scam before the doors were locked sad.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.